Skip to content
June 12, 2014 / beatricebunny

Golden Beets

We get our CSA on Thursdays, and Wednesday nights are busy in the Barger-Kelly household. I have gyrotonic class and Jim has a standing thing with his guys.  Generally, we don’t do a lot of cooking on Wednesdays, but we do have fresh greens and other items that need using up. As I’ve said before, one advantage of local greens is that they last longer, but not indefinitely. Plus we will shortly be getting more stuff to use. A delicious cycle.

Last week, we got golden beets, and I planned to make a warm beet salad last night. Instead, I worked late and got home realizing I needed a quick, weeknight meal instead. (We ordered take-out.) I love beets, though, and wanted to make sure we used them up. So, while waiting for our take-out delivery, I preheated the oven to 425, washed the beets and placed them on aluminum foil. I drizzled them with olive oil and added a generous amount of salt and pepper. The beets cooked about an hour and came out soft enough to push a fork into. Once cooled a bit, I popped them in the fridge.

image

Roasted Beets

Tonight, I got home around 8 pm, and peeled the beets (easy once they’re roasted). We got Bibb lettuce, green onion, and feta cheese all from the CSA, so I threw together an easy, fresh salad. For dressing, I mixed 2 tbsp olive oil, 2 tbsp red wine vinegar, salt, pepper, green goddess dry mixture, and extra garlic powder. I whisked well and poured over the salad just before serving. We at the salad and sandwiches, enjoying many of our fresh CSA veggies and making room for tomorrow’s pick-up.

image

Golden Beet Salad (no dressing)

Leave a Reply

