Skip to content
April 21, 2013 / beatricebunny

Brunch Stew

I mentioned in an earlier post that I am not a fan of leftovers, so I try to re-purpose them.  Breakfast today was a perfect example of that.  Last night, I made pot roast.  I usually try to use up opened foods I have on hand rather than buying the “right” ingredients, so for my pot roast, I seared the seasoned roast, let it rest, and then cooked up some garlic and onions in my smaller dutch oven.  I added the roast back, threw in some baby carrots and red potatoes from a meal earlier this week, and covered with the liquid I had open and and on hand – low fat, salt free chicken broth.  I added seasonings (fresh thyme, bay leaf, salt, pepper) and then simmered until all was warm.  I popped it in the oven and cooked for 2.5 hours at 250 degrees. 

This, however, is not the recipe that I am writing about today.  This morning, I had 2.5 cups of chicken/beef broth from last nights roast.  It still had some garlic and onions, a few carrots, and a couple of potatoes in it.  I had never even considered stew a breakfast (brunch) food until I had a version of it at Erin and Neil’s house back in Louisville several years ago.  We cooked a really good Rachel Ray recipe that is still in rotation in my house.  And it wasn’t until I made chakcouka that it occurred to me that you can poach eggs in something other than water and vinegar.  This morning, I combined those ideas.

I started with leftover chorizo from my husband’s turn to cook dinner on Thursday.  He bought ready to serve links, so I just sliced up the two remaining links and tossed them into my heated soup pot.  To this, I added all the broth from last night with the carrots, onions, garlic, and potatoes.  I brought this to a low boil and then added a can a tomatoes and chilies we had in the pantry.  To this I added some Penzy’s Fox Point Seasoning, and a healthy dose of Mama Pearl’s Caribbean Hot Sauce.  Once I brought it all to a low boil, and tasted it to adjust the seasoning, I poached an egg in the soup.  Once it was ready, I put the egg in a bowl and poached a second one.  Then I spooned the soup over top of the egg, making sure each person got a potato, some carrots, some onion, and a little chorizo.  After serving, the diner cuts into the egg, pouring the yolk into the broth and thickening it from a soup to a stew.

It was delish – and now I have a more complex leftover broth to play with later for another meal.  Should I add a little pasta and make a soup?  More poached eggs?  No idea. 

 

Leave a Reply

