Skip to content
February 27, 2013 / beatricebunny

Hot Toddy

On a cold night, I love a good hot toddy.  The traditional hot toddy is a simple, simple drink – hot water, a shot of scotch, honey, lemon, cloves, and cinnamon.  Or, if you are a local bar whose drinks I normally enjoy, hot water and bourbon (let’s just say I was disappointed).

My hot toddy recipe is so far away from the traditional recipe, but really, I should come up with another name for it.  But I’m lazy and I think it captures the essence of a hot toddy – plus, it isn’t just bourbon and boiling water, so I win.

First, I don’t actually use plain water.  I make my toddy with white lemon decaf tea.  If you are cold or you have a cold hot tea is a great soother, as are hot toddies.  Combining the two makes me a genius.  I pop a cinnamon stick into the kettle with the boiling water, so in that, at least, I remain traditional.

Next comes my choice of booze.  There are a couple of ways I go with this depending on what I have on hand, my mood, or the tastes of the people I am making hot toddies for.  Most often these days I choose Jack Daniels Honey whiskey (2 oz) or an ounce of Jack’s honey whiskey and an ounce of Early Times Fire Eater.  If I’m sick, I might go ahead and put a shot of each in.  My friend Amber gifted my with homemade limoncello for the Christmas this year. Her lemoncello is the absolute bomb, and it has also been featured prominently in our toddies.  If I use it, I definitely do not put two shots of anything else in, even if I am already in my pjs and only have to find my way from the recliner to the bedroom.  Since her delicious concoction is not for sale, I will assume that y0u are just going to using lemon juice.  Don’t skip it.  The lemon is a really important part of the flavor profile.

Next, I add additional honey.  We buy ours at the West Nashville Farmers Market from bees who have collected local pollen.  While I remain skeptical that there is any health benefit from local honey vs. non-local honey, I am not skeptical that it is delicious and that it is not full of weird random chemicals.

So, basically, my Hot Toddy Recipe

  • 6 ounces near-to-boiling water
  • 1 Stash lemon and white tea tea bag
  • 1 Shot of Jack Daniel’s Honey Whiskey
  • 1 Cinnamon stick
  • Honey to taste
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice

Boil water with cinnamon stick in it.  Turn water off and let cool to just below boiling.  Brew tea in mug per tea bag directions (transfer cinnamon stick to mug).  Once brewed, removed tea bag.  Add whiskey.  Remove cinnamon stick.  Stir in lemon juice and honey.  Serve hot.  Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy.

 

Leave a Reply

