Skip to content
February 26, 2013 / beatricebunny

Black Bean Soup

I made an old, but favorite recipe for friends the other night.  I primarily learned to cook from the Moosewood Cooks at Home cookbook.  This simple, basic pescetarian cookbook totally changed my life, and sometimes I really enjoy revisiting the recipes in it.

The black bean soup recipe from the book is simple, quick, and uses a lot of canned ingredients, make it a good winter meal.  Obviously, we can substitute fresh ingredients if you have them.  The original recipe is here.

I’ve made a couple of changes (naturally).  I skipped the sun dried tomatoes.  When I was younger, they were a luxury that I couldn’t really afford, and now, I just find them too sweet.  I replace the ground cumin with whole cumin, which I toast lightly, and then grind myself.

Sometimes, I only blend half the soup as the recipe calls for, but most of the time, I blend the whole thing until creamy, making a kind of vegan black bean bisque.  I love it like that.  (Obviously, your topping may make it no longer vegan, your choice.)

I like mine topped with Greek yogurt, more cilantro, and a little spicy diced pepper.

Leave a Reply

