Skip to content
February 8, 2013 / beatricebunny

Lazy Cooking

I’ve been torn between wanting to make something new and wanting to make comfort food.  It’s cold.  It’s dark.  It’s February.  Comfort food makes me feel good.  But, cooking is a creative outlet for me, and I itch when I get in a rut.  So tonight I am trying to find a balance between those two things.

I went to the grocery store this afternoon and just wandered around thinking about what I wanted to it.  Something classic.  Something that wouldn’t take a huge amount of prep on my part (because I have had a serious headache all day, and cannot deal with much), but something that would be interesting and delicious.  The secret, to me, of not eating out too often is to ensure that meals at home are special, interesting, and engaging.

Turkey breast was on sale, so I bought half a turkey breast and some classic veggie counterpoints – pearl onions, carrots, and potatoes.  Because I am feeling lazy (headache) and because I can, I bought baby carrots and fingerling potatoes along with the pearl onions.  These options mean that I did no chopping.

I preheated my oven to 300 degrees, seasoned my turkey breast with salt, pepper, cayenne pepper, and Penzeys Fox Point seasoning (this stuff is seriously the bomb), seared the turkey breast in my dutch oven (fat side down first).  I let the seared turkey rest and then heated the pearl onions until I could smell them, then added back the meat, carrots, and potatoes.  I added 4 cups of veggie broth, adjusted the seasonings, and then popped it in the oven.  I should have fall off the bone turkey in about 4 hours.

This won’t be the most awesome or complex thing that I have ever made, but it should be tasty comfort food with plenty of flavor.

Leave a Reply

