Skip to content
January 29, 2013 / beatricebunny

Brussels Sprouts Soup

Saturday night, I made a fantastic recipe for Brussels Sprout soup.  The recipe came from poet Daniel Nathan Terry.  It’s simple, vegan, and delicious.  It also uses almond milk, which I had never had before.  It is some tastiness (and in fact, I used it again Sunday night to make fancy hot cocoa).  Not only is the recipe delicious, but it will also make a great base for more playing if I decide I want to experiment.

The basics:

Four cups Brussels Sprouts, trimmed
Four cups vegetable stock
1 cup unsweetened, plain, Almond Milk
Salt, pepper, nutmeg, and hot sauce to taste

Simmer Brussels Sprouts in broth until tender (but still bright green). Blend with immersion blender until smooth while still hot in pot. Add almond milk, and bring back to simmer. Add salt, pepper, fresh grated nutmeg, and hot sauce (to taste preference). Blend again. Serve immediately.

I served the soup with crusty garlic bread.

The soup is surprisingly sweet.  I expected a bit of bitterness from the sprouts, but there was none at all.  The hot sauce balances the sweetness nicely, and the almond milk provides a solid base.  Unsurprisingly, like most soups, it was even better Sunday afternoon.

This is one of those soups that makes you feel better after eating it – like the Green Soup recipe I highlighted here and here, this is such a great recipe for creating a sense of health and vitality.  I had my quarterly meeting with my nutritionist on Friday, and we were talking about “cleansing” meals.  She told me that she is trying to convince clients not to do cleansing fasts, they are unhealthy and not particularly useful, but she loves these kinds of soups that provide tools to our bodies to make us feel good.

Plus: delicious!

Leave a Reply

