Skip to content
May 9, 2012 / beatricebunny

A Little Experiment

Generally speaking, I do not care for the sweet/savory combination.  You will not find me eating honey BBQ or Sweet & Sour anything.  It just doesn’t please my palate.  With one exception: I love hearty meat and fruit together.  The Deen Bros Filet Mignon with blackberries?  Divine!

With this in mind, I thawed some thick cut pork chops this week planning to make something tasty from them.  The problem?  I never went grocery shopping.  I checked out my recipes and found one for peach pork chops (7 hours in the crock pot) and for blueberry pork chops. In the house, I have no peaches, no blueberries, no blackberries…  So I did what I normally do, I winged it!  

I did have pineapple in its own juices, craisins, and sundry spices.  I also have honey whiskey.  So, I browned the pork chops (lightly salted and peppers) and set them aside, and then deglazed my dutch oven with honey whiskey.  I whisked together some pineapple juice, blood orange vinegar, brown sugar, cinnamon, cardamon, and ground cloves.  I dumped all of the pineapple juice and the pineapple hunks over the pork chops then added the whisked mixture. 

Currently, the house smells amazing.  I have been cooking these pork chops for two hours and a half, and since my husband just got home from work, I am getting ready to take them out.  I took them out every hour, made sure that the liquid still covered the chops and tasted the sauce.  The sauce is delicious!  At two hours the pork was falling apart. 

Seriously, this whole braising thing remains a revelation.  I am not crazy about pork (except pulled) because it’s always a bit tough to me, but not braised pork (which is, not coincidentally, how one makes pulled pork).  I am pretty excited about my pork, pineapple, and craisin dish.  I hope it lives up to the smell!

 

 

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Jim / May 9 2012 7:00 pm

    And of course it did. Yummy!

Leave a Reply

