Skip to content
March 19, 2012 / beatricebunny

Summer Cooking

It’s a balmy 82 degrees Fahrenheit in Nashville, TN.  We have had a lovely weekend filled with outdoor activities, art, nature, basketball, and cooking.  Despite March Madness, it feels more like May than March, and I hope that my apartment complex does what it needs to do to get the pools opened well before the Memorial Day mark.

Feeding our bodies is, to me, tied inextricably to the seasons.  The calendar may say March, but my cravings and needs match the weather, which says, “Summer, Summer, Summer!”  Friday night, I wasn’t completely ready for summer, so I took a middle road.  I made soup and quiche.  The soup was an excellent mushroom soup recipe taken from the Epicurious app.  I know that many people are not comfortable cooking from a screen, but I have a couple of apps that I regularly use:  the Epicurious app is very good, but Bittman’s “How to Cook Everything” app is one of the best.  In fact, I am currently roasting a chicken using his fail-proof recipe.  It’s frigging amazing.

My “quiche” isn’t exactly a quiche.  I find that I generally want mine to be a little lighter and fluffier than the dense pie that I think of as quiche.  Basically, I beat my eggs, cream, and (in this case) chevre cheese in the mixer until they are light and bubbly, and then pour them over my filling ingredients.  The result is something light that rises a little, though not as much as say, souffle. The picture below isn’t the prettiest, but it does show the fluffiness of the end result.

Asparagus Quiche

Asparagus, Pancetta, and Chevre Quiche.

On Saturday, my husband and I spent the afternoon with a friend enjoying a local botanical garden, and this lead to more summer cravings.  Dinner was the leftover mushroom soup with a roasted salmon and orange salad.  Simple and very tasty.

I still have leftover chili in my fridge from last weekend, and with the sudden warm spell, I am going to have to find some way to serve it that satisfies my current need for summer foods.  Maybe as hot dog sauce or even eating it cold.  I’ll just have to see…

Leave a Reply

