Skip to content
March 5, 2012 / beatricebunny

Worst Cooks in America S3, Ep 4

So, this marks the halfway point for the contestants.  My husband and I were talking last night, we feel like the recruits were farther along than this last season by this point.  Maybe not, but it seems like these recruits have even less kitchen knowledge than previous years – and more kitchen hang ups.

One of the most refreshing things about this reality show for me is that there isn’t really any interpersonal drama.  These people are here to learn a skill (or more accurately, a series of skills all lumped together called “cooking.”)  Back biting, scheming, and gamesmanship won’t get you very far if you cook dry chicken and raw veggies.

On the other hand, this season seems a little less fun than previous seasons.  It’s halfway through, and I still don’t really feel like I know any of the characters, who have been reduced to sound bites.  And there isn’t a lot of playful banter between Burrell and Flay.  It lacks the chemistry of previous seasons, though I am surprised by how much I like Bobby Flay in this show.  I said at the beginning that he isn’t a favorite of mine, but he’s growing on me.  Both he and Anne seem curiously neutered though, which is strange given what strong, competitive personalities they both have.

The highlights of this episode, are the recipes which, if you didn’t know, are all available at Food Network.  Scroll to the bottom of the page.

We also noted that this seasons, the recruits seem to be doing more of their own recipe creation.  I like this change in the format, but I wish the show was able to spend more time on the recruits and their process of creating something.  Just seeing the finished product, is, frankly, a little boring. Looking through the brief synopsis of the upcoming recipes, it looks like they have to do more copying later.  To me, this makes no sense.  Have them copy the recipes exactly first, then do their own thing when there is a smaller group.

First, that is how most of us actually learn to cook.  You copy a recipe, and then you learn to make variations, and then you make things up altogether.  Second, it makes more compelling TV.  I don’t need to see lots of detail of all 16 recruits copying a recipe, but I would enjoy watching more detail of five recruits making variations.

Also, it may be that the people who went home really were that bad, or it may be the editing, but there hasn’t been a surprise in the eliminations yet.  Usually by the halfway point, I feel like the playing field is more even.  At this point, my husband and I have a pretty good idea who the top two are from both teams.  The fact that we agree on who we think it is indicates that there isn’t a lot of suspense there.

Hm. I didn’t actually talk much about this actual episode, so here, have Food Network’s highlight recap.

 

Leave a Reply

