Skip to content
February 11, 2012 / beatricebunny

Green Soup Revisited

Today was our monthly farmers market visit.  In the summer, we go weekly, but in the winter we go once or twice a month.  I picked up my meat CSA (20 pounds of meat) and then browsed for the items I wanted for some bulk cooking.  I ended up with 3 dozen eggs, one pound of locally roasted coffee, and a mess of greens consisting of: mustard greens, red kale, Swiss chard, green kale.  Of course, the plan all along was to make another batch of that amazing green soup.

One of the things that I love about local produce and seasonal cooking is the endless variations in the same recipe.  I know that many people love going to a restaurant and being able to eat exactly the same food with the same flavor.  Bulk wines are really popular because they are blended in such a way that every bottle has the same flavor, year after year.  A bottle of Yellow Tail shiraz will taste more or less the same whether the grapes were harvested in 2007 or 2010.  Eating and drinking in this manner reduces risk – if you like Yellow Tail shiraz, you will like it every time you drink it.  But to me, this greatly lessens the experience of eating and drinking.  Every experience should have its own unique flair.  Sometimes, this means that the wine you loved in 2007 won’t be as tasty as 2010, but it’s worth the risk to me.

So, back to the green soup.  This is my third batch using the base recipe.  There was no spinach at the market today, so I used Swiss chard in the spinach role, and mixed greens (kale, chard, and mustard greens) in the other part.  The mustard greens added a fantastic spiciness to the flavor and the mixed greens provided a more complex flavor.  It also has a stronger “greens” flavor this time, probably because of the kale, which is much, much more pungent than chard.  I don’t have a pot large enough to double the recipe, so I am going to make a second batch tomorrow.  There will be a slight variation in the amount of each type of greens since I’ll just use what I have left, and then I’ll mix the two soups together to get my bulk soup cooked for the rest of the this week.  I’m looking forward to having something hearty and healthy and homemade on the road with me, and my husband will take the rest to work with him.

I’m excited to taste the changing seasons in this soup.  Leafy greens of one kind or another grow all year round here in TN, and I can’t wait to try this recipe with the tender spring shoots and hearty summer varieties.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Frankie / Feb 11 2012 10:39 pm

    I’m not so much of a risk taker about food – I’m more of a “do what I know works” kind of gal, but I admire your adventurous spirit and dedication to your craft. The soup sounds yum. 🙂 I love chard.

    • beatricebunny / Feb 11 2012 11:16 pm

      I think you would really like this soup. It’s so good and hardy.

Trackbacks

  1. Brussels Sprouts Soup « alittlehomemadejam

Leave a Reply

