Skip to content
January 15, 2012 / beatricebunny

Green Soup

Food is as much about how it makes us feel as it is about how it tastes or what our bodies need.  This week, I worked in Dallas, TX, and well, I over-indulged.  On Wednesday night, a co-worker and I tried Tom Colicchio’s restaurant Craft.  It was delicious, but very rich.  I had mushrooms and diver scallops, and an ice cream/yogurt/sorbet tasting.  Thursday, an old friend and I went to our favorite Moroccan restaurant, Medina.  Everything was delicious, and I have no regrets, but by the time I got home, I was ready for simply, wholesome food to balance my rich indulgences.

Last week, I heard Anna Thomas on NPR’s The Splendid Table.  She was providing her recipe for “Green Soup,” and her description of the way she came to create this recipe struck me.  She talked about how the holidays had just ended, and she was feeling kind of blah from all the eating and sitting.   She went to the kitchen and started cooking the onions, and as she worked, it slowly came to her that she should make a soup.  This basic soup recipe has become a staple in her home, and I believe that she has a cookbook dedicated to variations on this recipe.

The idea of a recipe based on wanting to feel better after the holiday indulgences appealed to me today, so I made her recipe.  This is some amazing soup.  My husband thinks it tastes like you’re eating health and sunshine.  To me, it was pure comfort.  Greens, onions cooked until they are sweet, and a little rice for the starch.  It’s simple, tasty, and delicious.

My husband’s new year’s resolution is to bake more, so he made the cheddar, rosemary biscuits from our cooking class.  They, along with Molly Dooker’s The Boxer Shiraz, were the perfect compliments to the soup.  We are both full and feeling satisfied.

 

Leave a Reply

