Skip to content
November 14, 2011 / beatricebunny

Stuffed Pumpkin Part 1

I’m not sure how tonight’s experiment will turn out. It’s in the oven now. I wanted to do the “Pumpkin Stuffed with Everything” recipe that my friend Shell (who is is a much better cook than me) has been raving about. I don’t have the recipe because I have not yet bought the cookbook “Around My French Table.” It’s on my wishlist, so I hope to have it by year-end (ahem, to those who buy me Christmas gifts.) I winged it.

And then, I discovered that I was missing bread, which is the second main ingredient besides pumpkin and that I had no idea what temperature to cook this strange recipe on.

I could have done something else. I live in the U.S., and I have a job, so I could have eaten out. I could have cooked something else. I could have ordered pizza. But I did none of those things.

Instead, I replaced the bread with turnips (starchy, absorbent, delicious). And I made everything else up. The house smells delicious, and if this turns out horribly, at least I tried, and I will have notes for later.

This brings me to one of the most important parts of my cooking philosophy: It is okay to fail. Cooking, as I stated when I first started this blog, is a place in my life where if something doesn’t go well, the consequences are pretty minor. At worst, I’ll miss one meal, which won’t kill me. Most likely, I’ll get a lot of teasing from my husband (who will most likely eat anything that I haven’t left dangerously raw or burnt to cinders), and I’ll have to dig into my canned goods or order pizza. I’ll be sorry that I wasted delicious farm food, but acknowledge that if I hadn’t tried a new recipe, it probably would have gone bad, since I get tons of farm vegetables that I am cooking for the first time. That’s just the way it is.

So tonight’s recipe:
2 small pumpkins, cut open and seeded.
4 strips of thick cut bacon, cooked and crumbled
1 large turnip, cubed
1 large onion, chopped and sauteed in bacon grease
1 cup cheese
2 cups cream
1 clove garlic
salt, pepper, paprika, and thyme

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees. Dump all ingredients into pumpkins (split evenly), except cream and spices (garlic goes in with the ingredients). Mix spices into cream, pour into pumpkins. Replaces tops on pumpkins and cook for an hour or until pumpkin is fully roasted (can tell because it is soft and the sides start to collapse).

Let cool and serve.

Now, this might taste very bad, so no promises. I’ll report back later tonight with results.

dump all ingredients

Leave a Reply

