Skip to content
November 5, 2011 / beatricebunny

Fall Breakfasts – Greens and Sweet Potatoes

Arugula and Poached Egg

Arugula and Poached Egg

I slept in this morning and our trip to the farmers market was later than usual.  We came home with a house full of greens – lettuce, arugula, mustard greens, and turnips with the greens attached.  Greens from the farmers market last longer than greens from the grocery store, but we still we need to use them up fairly quickly.  This brings me to one of my favorite, easy combinations – greens and eggs.

In my mind, this is the perfect breakfast combo for a number of reasons.  First, I love the taste of greens and eggs.  Second, like most Americans, I struggle to get enough veggies during the week, and so I try to eat veggies at every weekend meal. I first made eggs with greens our second summer with the CSA because I was at a loss with what to do with all the veggies coming into the house.  I was tired of frittatas, which is a great use for spinach, and I didn’t care for the fact that cooking greens in my omelets turned them a nasty shade of green (though I know now how to keep that from happening.)

Greens, as I make them for breakfast, are probably too simple for a real cooking blog, but I like them.  Basically, I start with a little cooking oil and then cut up a red onion and saute it in the oil. I add a little garlic and then the greens, followed by salt and pepper.  While the greens cook (I include the stems so this takes awhile), I fry eggs over easy.  The eggs are served atop the greens, and I break the yolks to mix it all together.  I love the richness of the eggs against the richness of the greens.  It’s simple, easy, and tasty.

I saute greens in a similar manner for dinner, except I usually add craisins and sometimes a little thyme.  If I’m out of craisins, sometimes I’ll use rice vinegar and a touch of sesame oil.

In addition to greens, our kitchen is overflowing with sweet potatoes.  I committed to using a lot more of them over the next month because we literally have sweet potatoes all over the kitchen and dining room.  Last week, I didn’t even get any even though they were including in our CSA because we have so many.

Here’s the thing.  I don’t like sweet potatoes.  I cook them for my husband, but I don’t eat them myself.  I try to make them different ways, but generally, I just bake one with dinner.  I usually make a mashed sweet potato for him at Thanksgiving and sweet potato pancakes the weekend afterward, and I once made a pretty unsuccessful sweet potato cobbler.  But we have so many sweet potatoes that I’ve had to branch out.  Today’s recipe was inspired by the sweet potato fries found on brunch menus in restaurants.  It should serve two people.  I kind of made it up as I went, so, as usual, spice content is an estimate.

Ingredients are spices listed below, one large sweet potato, and 1/2 cup of craisins.

In a prep bowl mix:

1 tsp ginger
1/2 tsp nutmeg
2 tbsp cinnamon
1/4 cup of sugar

Thinly slice a large sweet potato.

Heat a tbsp of butter in a skillet over medium heat.  Add the sweet potato and toss till coated in butter.  Cook about two minutes and then toss in the craisins.  Turn the sweet potatoes with a spatula until the craisins are well coated in butter and mixed in.  Cover with a lid and let cook about 5 minutes, flipping the potatoes about halfway through.  Add half the spice mixture and continue to flip until coated.  Cook about 30 seconds and then add the other half.  Turn to med-low and cook covered until the potatoes are soft and the craisins are plump.  Serve immediately.

My husband describes is as, “tasting like fall.”  I thought it smelled amazing, but was uninterested in eating it.

Leave a Reply

