Skip to content
October 17, 2011 / beatricebunny

Lamb Meatloaf

I think it is important to play with your food.  I like the idea of making dishes that look traditional, but have something special of different about them.  Sometimes, for example, I’ll make “blue plate” food but dress it up with really high quality products, like salisbury steak with premium ground beef and mushroom gravy made from locally grown mushrooms.

Tonight, I went another direction.  When I served dinner, it looked like meatloaf and sauteed greens.  And, in fact, that’s what it was.  My husband was a little confused when I brought I white, creamy sauce out to go with the meatloaf, but he’s a pretty good sport, so he spooned a little sauce on his meatloaf and took a bite.  I had nibbled in the kitchen to make sure it was tasty, and I was gratified by his response.

The meatloaf was ground lamb, mixed with a homemade curry powder (American style) and the sauce was a Greek yogurt, garlic, and lemon sauce.  I think it tasted lovely, and he had seconds.

The recipe, roughly is this:

1.5 pounds ground lamb
1/2 cup panko flakes
1 egg
1/2 tsp tumeric
1/2 tsp ginger
1/4 tsp/each paprika, cayenne, mustard seeds (ground), cumin
1/2 tsp salt and pepper

Spices are an estimate.  Hell, everything is an estimate.  I was making it up as I went.

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees.  Mix all ingredients in a bowl, shape in a free-form loaf on a broiler pan (I used a cooking sheet, but lamb is a little greasy and would have worked better on broiler pan).  Cook until done, probably around 1/2 an hour.

After it goes into the over, mix about half a cup of Greek yogurt with 1 minced garlic clove and about 1/2 an ounce of lemon.  Refrigerate until ready to use.

For the greens I mixed 1 ounce of sesame oil with an ounce of vegetable oil.  I added onions, chopped, turnips, peeled and thinly sliced, and the stem of the bok choy. I sauteed about three minutes and then added the green leafy part of the bok choy.  I added salt and pepper and then cooked until tender, but not soggy.

We opened a bottle of Rhone wine and thoroughly enjoyed.

Leave a Reply

